Googling for Breakfast

20140624_114424Margaret and I were thinking about what to have for breakfast.

We were hoping for a little inspiration. Today we wanted something other than the usual default choices. Nothing too wild and crazy, though. It was still morning and we were working our way through our wake-up coffee.

I suggested oatmeal. Now that may not sound too creative, but it was a significant deviation from my usual slam-down bacon, sausage, eggs, hash browns, and toast cravings.

Margaret looked at me over her coffee mug. “I think I’d like something savoury.”

“Too bad there’s no such thing as savoury oatmeal,” I said.

I’d never heard of savoury oatmeal. Never seen it on a menu anywhere. Not one of the serving suggestion on the back of the oatmeal package mentions it.

But why not? Somebody, somewhere must have thought of it. Tried it. Was the dish a winner or a disaster? (I could not, in any stretch of my imagination, see myself squirting ketchup onto oatmeal.) And if they had, they would surely have posted about the experience in the Internet.

I turned to Google. ‘Savory oatmeal’ A huge list of discussions and recipes rolled up. I was amazed. (Well, maybe not so amazed. I am convinced someone somewhere has done every thing that is even remotely conceivable and posted about it.) There were some great-sounding suggestions.

20140624_094730Out came the pot and the pan. Get the oatmeal bubbling. Sauté some mushrooms, onions,and a little green pepper. Add the cooked oatmeal to the pan. A little rosemary, basil, and a few grinds of pepper. (Maybe a little salt if you didn’t already salt the oatmeal.) Fold in some grated cheddar. Serve out and top with a sprinkle of parmesan and a poached egg.

Wonderful…!

Why have I never seen this on a breakfast menu somewhere?

So go and Google it yourself. Who knows – sriracha oatmeal may be the wake-you-up start to the day you’ve always been looking for.

One thought on “Googling for Breakfast

Leave a Reply

