Onions. Just plain. No additives, please.

I found out that when you cut the stringy end off a green onion, you can poke it into some dirt and it will quickly grow into a big 009healthy green onion. I water it a little but otherwise I just ignore it. It still grows like crazy.

Now I’m not a gardener. Never had much luck in that area. But it seems some things are easy to grow. (These must certainly be plants that are related to weeds.)

007So I have a little box of green onions in the driveway. Next to them I have a pot of rosemary and also some thyme and oregano.

I am getting more confident with herbs.

When it’s time to season the lamb chops, jazz up the spaghetti sauce, or create a salad dressing, I’m out there with my kitchen shears removing snippets of flavour and… I mean this fresh stuff will instantly infuse your brain with intense aroma. Wonderful!

And I also know what I’m putting into my dinner. Off-the-supermarket-shelf stuff almost always seems to contain unpronouncable mystery ingredients. I squint at the label. What is that stuff?

Does my jerk seasoning really need calcium stearate in it (“…an insoluble calcium salt of stearic acid and palmitic acid… formed when soap is mixed with water that contains calcium ions and is the scum produced in regions of hard water”)? Will I truly be happier if my spices contain an anti-caking agent to keep them from clumping and sticking together so it’s easier to shake them out of the container?

Does my salt need calcium silicate added to it? I don’t mind breaking up the clumps in my jar of sea salt. I shake the jar and they go away. My mom used to put grains of rice in the salt shaker to keep it dry and free-flowing. Works for me.

Why do they add palm oil to my raisins anyway?

I don’t always know which additives are innocuous, and which ones aren’t. So my solution is to get closer to the source of what I’m eating and strive to know what it’s made of.

Actually, the next time I move, I think I’ll look for a place that has a nice healthy vegetable garden next door. Abundant produce that needs to be pawned off on the neighbours.

But I’ll be keeping an eye on what gets spread on the garden late at night under the light of the moon.

* * * * *

Check out these ideas for growing food from kitchen scraps and for making your own spice blends.

Leave a Reply

